Returning Victoria to the Sensible Centre

Victorian State Election 2022


Democracy in the State of Victoria is in a critical condition.

The Andrews Labor Government has mismanaged COVID-19 and imposed enormous social and economic damage on the State. It failed to protect Victorians most at risk from the virus (the elderly and residents in nursing homes) and instead imposed severe lockdowns on the whole community. In the process it has destroyed the state’s economy, crushed half a million small businesses, imposed home-schooling on stressed and unprepared parents, and unleashed a wave of anxiety, domestic violence and mental illness on the State that will take years to overcome.

It has put the State’s Parliament in hibernation, no longer having a use for it.

It has been able to get away with all this because the State has no effective Opposition. The Victorian Liberal and National Parties are now caricatures of the once formidable political parties that previously governed the State. They are unelectable. They are highly unrepresentative of the State’s diverse population and they lack the capacity to defeat the Andrews Government.

The task of returning Victoria to normality falls to us – ordinary mainstream people in the Sensible Centre of politics and community life.


Victorian Election: 26 November 2022

We will support a team of candidates in the next State Election to return Victoria to the Sensible Centre. We want sensible everyday Victorian people to hold the balance of power in both Houses of the Victorian Parliament. The politicians who trashed the State, and those who failed to curb them, must not be permitted to continue on with their political ‘careers’.

This is how we will do it:

1. In each of the 88 Lower House electorates in Victoria, we invite nominations from committed everyday people who want to win the seat from Labor and Liberal/National parties. We will form a team of supporters in each electorate to support them.

2. In August 2022 we will hold a Community Preselection in each electorate in which community members may vote to select their preferred candidate. We will back the community-preferred candidate.

3. We will prioritise 44 of the 88 seats in the Legislative Assembly (Lower House):

Seven of these are held by the Liberal and National parties. (Berwick, Evelyn, Gembrook, Hawthorn, Kew, Rowville, South-West Coast)

One is held by an Independent (Morwell)

Thirty-six are held by Labor (Altona, Bellarine, Bendigo West, Broadmeadows, Bundoora. Buninyong, Carrum, Clarinda, Cranbourne, Dandenong, Footscray, Frankston, Geelong, Keysborough, Kororoit, Lara, Macedon, Melton, Mill Park, Monbulk, Morwell, Mulgrave, Narre Warren North, Narre Warren South, Niddrie, Pakenham, Pascoe Vale, South Barwon, St Albans, Sunbury, Sydenham, Tarneit, Thomastown, Werribee, Yan Yean, Yuroke)

4. This process will be led by a State Campaign Committee.

Express your Interest

We invite Expressions of Interest in participating in this process, as either a Candidate, an Electorate Support Team member, a State Campaign Committee member, or a Community Preselector.

Further information:
Further information:

Vern Hughes
0425 722 890